New Zealand Himalayan Tahr Trophy Systems

Share |

There are three major scoring systems used for trophies in New Zealand. The system you'll use is most likely going to be based on where you come from, not where the trophy is taken.

Safari Club International (SCI)

Most used by hunters from North and South America. The system recognizes both free-range and estate hunted animals, with no deductions for asymmetry. SCI maintains an online record book. The SCI main website is here, and their online official measuring manual is here. The number of points for each medal category vary from year to year.

Douglas Score

Most used by hunters from New Zealand and Australia, this scoring system was developed by Norman Douglas, a member of the New Zealand Deerstalkers' Association (NZDA), and adopted by the NZDA as its official scoring system in 1959. Trophies are judged on the number of points and the spread of the antlers. More information on the Douglas scoring system is here.


Most used by hunters from Europe. The CIC Measurement Formulas were established in 1934, and take into consideration not just dimensional measurements, but also awards points for "beauty", a factor for weight, and subtracts points for imperfections. More information on the CIC formulas and medal categories can be found here.

Typical Measurements

The base of the horns of a bull tahr is up to 9", with a sharp round curled horn of 10" to 14". A good trophy male tahr will have a long mane as well, although record book scoring only uses a combination of the diameter of the horn bases and the length of both horns. Typically you'll be looking for tahr with horns over 11" long, and horns of 12 1/2" to 13 1/2" are considered an "trophy"; horns exceeding 14" are exceptional. Occasionally, New Zealand tahr are taken with horns over 15".